SENIOR-FRIENDLY LIVING: AT HOME IN THE GREEN

For more living comfort for the elderly

Feel good at home. This is what Velero stands for. In Wittstock/Dosse, Brandenburg, the principle should also be applied: Without further ado, the property manager implemented a concept for senior-friendly living.

Last year, at the hottest time of the year, the reconstruction measures began. The former commercial units in the "Rote Mühle" area were to undergo a significant remodelling in order to make them even more attractive to a certain group of tenants in and around Wittstock. Velero pursued a plan: to make senior-friendly living in the small town of Brandenburg possible for the first time.

Now, one year later, twelve low-barrier units have been created. The inquiries for the modernized rental apartments exceeded the level already during the reconstruction phase. Because age-appropriate offers are at present still a rarity in Wittstock.

Barrier-free living requires rethinking

It all began with the goal of overcoming the vacancy of the business premises in the "Rote Mühle" residential area. Velero made a virtue out of necessity: the ground-level commercial units met the requirements for an age-appropriate conversion.

 

The manager for residential real estate has recognized the necessity of future-oriented living concepts. Because demographic developments require new perspectives. True to the principle: Think about tomorrow today.

The absence of barriers in the house, wide entrances and passages as well as handrails in the bathroom are among the requirements for low-barrier residential properties. In the "Red Mill" residential area, senior-friendly living is defined by further amenities.

The floor-to-ceiling window fronts have been partially taken over as light-giving relics of the earlier stores. They give tenants a view of blossoming chestnuts and lush meadows. From the outside, the windows are framed by a brick façade. The red stones are a well-known motif from Wittstock's picturesque downtown. A park in the interior of the residential estate, designed as a square, offers nearby recreation. Generous parking spaces are adjacent not far from the house entrances. Short distances define the neighborhood and contribute to a comfortable living atmosphere for older residents.

Since the takeover of the residential area "Rote Mühle" with a total of 134 units by Velero in 2017, vacancies around Beethovenstrasse are a thing of the past.

The real estate manager, who has about 10,000 residential and commercial units nationwide, has repeatedly demonstrated expertise in Wittstock: The extension and conversion of outdated commercial units into modern apartments with low barrier quality meets great interest from tenants - even from the immediate neighbourhood.

"Red Mill" for families, seniors and singles

But the residential complex does not only offer attractive living space for senior citizens. 134 rental apartments are spread over four building complexes on up to five floors. Large and small families, but also single households find lucrative living space in Wittstock via Velero at a rent of 5.00 to 6.50 euros per square meter.

The proximity to the historical city center, to shopping facilities, educational institutions and medical care as well as to the countryside make living in Wittstock family and senior-friendly.

© 2020 Velero Immobilien AG

SENIORENFREUNDLICHES WOHNEN: ZUHAUSE IM GRÜNEN

Für mehr Wohnkomfort im Alter

Zuhause Wohlfühlen. Dafür steht Velero. Auch im brandenburgischen Wittstock/Dosse soll die Maxime einkehren: Kurzerhand setzte der Immobilienverwalter ein Konzept für seniorenfreundliches Wohnen um.

Zur heißesten Zeit begannen im vergangenen Jahr die Umbaumaßnahmen. Die ehemaligen Gewerbeeinheiten im Gebiet „Rote Mühle“ sollten einen einschneidenden Ausbau erfahren, um noch attraktiver auf eine bestimmte Mietergruppe in und um Wittstock zu wirken. Velero verfolgte einen Plan: Erstmalig seniorenfreundliches Wohnen in der brandenburgischen Kleinstadt zu ermöglichen.

Nun, ein Jahr später, sind zwölf barrierearme Einheiten entstanden. Die Anfragen für die modernisierten Mietwohnungen überstiegen das Maß schon während der Umbauphase. Denn altersgerechte Angebote sind in Wittstock derzeit noch eine Seltenheit.

Barrierearmes Wohnen verlangt Umdenken

Alles begann mit dem Ziel, den Leerstand der Geschäftsräume im Wohngebiet „Rote Mühle“ zu besiegen. Velero machte aus der Not eine Tugend: Die ebenerdigen Gewerbeeinheiten erfüllten die Voraussetzungen für einen altersgerechten Umbau.

 

Der Verwalter für Wohnimmobilien hat die Notwendigkeit zukunftsorientierter Wohnkonzepte erkannt. Denn die demographische Entwicklung erfordert neue Blickrichtungen. Getreu dem Motto: Heute schon an morgen denken.

Schwellenfreiheit im Haus, breite Ein- und Durchgänge sowie Haltegriffe im Badezimmer zählen zu den Auflagen barrierearmer Wohnobjekte. Im Wohngebiet „Rote Mühle“ definiert sich seniorenfreundliches Wohnen über weitere Annehmlichkeiten.

Die bodentiefen Fensterfronten wurden als lichtspendende Relikte der früheren Geschäfte zum Teil übernommen. Sie geben Mietern den Blick auf blühende Kastanien und saftige Wiesen frei. Von außen sind die Fenster von einer Backsteinfassade umrahmt. Die roten Steine sind ein bekanntes Motiv aus Wittstocks malerischer Innenstadt. Eine Parkanlage im Innern des als Karree angelegten Wohnviertels bietet nahe Erholung. Großzügige Parkplätze grenzen unweit der Hauseingänge an. Kurze Wege bestimmen die Nachbarschaft und tragen zu einer komfortablen Wohnatmosphäre für ältere Bewohner bei.

Seit der Übernahme des Wohngebiets „Rote Mühle“ mit insgesamt 134 Einheiten durch Velero im Jahr 2017, gehört Leerstand rund um die Beethovenstraße der Vergangenheit an.

Der Immobilienverwalter, der bundesweit über etwa 10.000 Wohnungs- und Gewerbeeinheiten verfügt, hat in Wittstock wiederholt Expertise bewiesen: Der Aus- und Umbau überholter Gewerbeeinheiten zu modernen Wohnungen mit Barrierearmut stößt auf großes Mieterinteresse – sogar aus der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft.

„Rote Mühle“ für Familien, Senioren und Singles

Doch nicht nur für Senioren bietet die Wohnanlage reizvollen Wohnraum. 134 Mietwohnungen verteilen sich auf vier Gebäudekomplexe auf bis zu fünf Etagen. Große und kleine Familien, aber auch Single-Haushalte finden in Wittstock über Velero lukrativen Wohnraum zu einer Miete von 5,00 bis 6,50 Euro pro Quadratmeter.

Die Nähe zum historischen Stadtkern, zu Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, Bildungseinrichtungen und ärztlicher Versorgung sowie ins Grüne bedingen ein familien- und seniorenfreundliches Wohnen in Wittstock.

© 2020 Velero Immobilien GmbH